2004: Worsley Cup Final Programme

In the run up to this years Worsley Cup Final – we’ve managed to get our hands on the 2004 programme. Thanks to Andrew Wren (who designed it!) for sending it in.

Some great write ups and player profiles. Nothing more fitting that this from the late, great David Wren – we all know how right he was.

Lowerhouse Cricket Club was formed in 1862 and 142 years later, the club hosts its first final of the Worsley Cup and still remains the only club, never to win a trophy.

Great professionals have come and gone without success including Manoj Prabhaker (India), Colin Milburn (England),Tony Dodemaide (Australia) and more recently Australians Matthew Mott, Shawn Flegler and Ryan Harris and South African Test Players Martin Van Jaarsveld and Jaques Rudolph.

Talented and respected amateur players have sweated blood for the cause without any silverware coming their way.

Today, however there is a big difference in the stature of the club compared to previous decades. The club now have over 120 registered players including 75 up to under 17 levels playing in 3 senior teams plus 7 junior sides. The club boats 10 qualified coaches and has invested heavily in the development of the club and the players resulting in the club being awarded the “Clubmark” that denotes that Lowerhouse is recognised as an approved focus club of excellence. We therefore expect that the next few years will begin to bear fruits of the labours of Stan Heaton and the coaches.

Today would be a good day to make up for those 142 barren years!

Welcome to everybody to the ground today and we hope you enjoy the fun, the atmosphere and the game.

Finally can I express our thanks to Frank and his team for the hard work that has been put in over the last few weeks and on the day. I’m sure you’ll agree that it has been a huge success.

Find below the programme in full.

2004 Final Programme


Similar Posts