Lancashire Knock Out Preview

Stan Heaton, chairman of Lowerhouse, poses for a portrait during the Lowerhouse Cricket Club 1st XI v Norden Cricket Club 1st XI Lancashire League Senior Division One match at the Brooks Foundation Ground in Lowerhouse, Burnley on May 5th 2019 in Lancashire (Photo by Tom Jenkins)

The 2nd round of the Lancashire Cricket Foundation (LCF) Knockout Cup is on Sunday next 2nd June 2019

This 2019  Competition is sponsored by Heineken with the 2019 Final is at Heywood CC on Sunday 8th September 2019

In the last 32 Round: Lowerhouse host Leyland CC victors over Croston and the victors will earn a home match on Sunday 22nd June against the winners of Woodhouses versus Blackpool CC tie.

Sundays’ Fixture is 45 overs starting at 1.00pm with entry £3 concessions £1

Leyland CC sit 6th in the Northern Premier League after 6 games

Founded: 1848. Joined Northern League: 1952

Leyland Cricket Club was formed after Leyland and Farington CC and Leyland Motors CC joined together in February 2007. They play at the Stanning Memorial Ground.

Both Leyland teams were founder members of the Northern League. Leyland CC was originally founded in 1848 and the Fox Lane ground was opened in 1880, marked by a prestigious game against a South XI. In 2000 the club merged with BTR CC and played as Leyland and Farington CC.

Leyland Motors CC was formed in 1919 as part of the Sports and Social Club for employees of the Leyland Motors vehicle works and played at Sandy Lane.

Both clubs joined the Ribblesdale League in 1921, Leyland winning the championship in 1921, 1925, 1926, 1935 and 1938 and Leyland Motors in 1939. Leyland were Northern League champions in 1961, 1981, 1991, 2010 and 2013, and Leyland Motors champions in 1973. Leyland were division two champions in 1952 and 1955, 2010, 2011 and 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017 and Leyland Motors division two champions in 1953.

The 2010 season was an incredible one for the Leyland club with their first, second, third and fourth teams all winning their respective leagues, a feat also achieved by the club’s two Sunday elevens

1st X1 Captain David Makinson

Overseas Saif Badar (Pakistan) –