Weekend Preview & Teams 9th & 10th August 08

It’s back to Liverpool Road this weekend with a home game against reigning League Champions Rishton. As we enter the final 9 games of the season there is little room for error in the chase to ctach Worsley Cup winners Accrington who are 26 points ahead of us at the top of the league.   Accrington entertain fellow challengers Nelson whilst second placed Rawtenstall take on Ramsbottom. Haslingden entertain Bacup at Bent Gate.

Chris Benbow and Jonny Russell return to the side in place of Matt Doughty and Scott Hope.  Stuart Grant is again unavailable.

To date, Rishton have struggled in Defence of their title despite heroics from their talented professional Saeed Anwar (Jr).  House were victorious in the reverse fixture a couple of weeks back with a comfortable 113 run victory at Blackburn Road. Pakistani professional Anwar was the star for Rishton that day with 96 before being dismissed by Chris Benbow.  Anwar has scored a staggering 1117 runs to date with a seasons best of 152 not out and average of 79.78.  With the ball Anwar has captured 40 wickets at 29.97 with a seasons best of 6-43. 

Last weekend Rishton succumbed to defeat at Burnley leaving them second bottom of the pile.

1st XI  – Sunday 10th August – Rishton (Home)  

  1. Charlie Cottam (Capt)
  2. Chris Benbow
  3. Joe Beneduce
  4. Chris Bleazard
  5. Will Driver
  6. Jon Finch
  7. Joe Hawke
  8. Hassan Khan
  9. Jack McGregor (Wkt)
  10. Jonny Russell
  11. Brendan Drew

2nd XI  – Sunday 10th august 08 – Rishton (Away)

  1. Paul Stansfield (Capt)
  2. Phil Haggerty
  3. Matt Doughty (Wkt)
  4. Ben Heap
  5. Scott Hope
  6. Max Howells
  7. Matt Marquis
  8. Joe Martin
  9. Paddy Martin
  10. Kieron Tighe
  11. Matt Walker

 Reserves – 3 team         Meet 11:30 prompt  

3rd XI – Saturday 9th August 08 – Enfield (Home)


  1. Michael Lee (Capt)
  2. Fergus Bailey
  3. Ayaaz Darr
  4. Shaun Heaton
  5. Paddy Howley
  6. Lewis Marsden
  7. Joe Martin
  8. Dean Mottram
  9. Toxy Razzaq
  10. Matt Walker
  11. Ben Webster
  12. Jonny Whitehead

 Reserves – D. Bailey, Holgate, Jenkins  Meet NOON  

Similar Posts