Weekend Preview & Teams 19th & 20th April 08

This weekend sees the first game of the 2008 Lancashire League cricket season.  Brendan has arrived safe and well from Australia and is set to take his place in a full strength Lowerhouse side.  Will Driver also makes his debut following his winter transfer from Read of the Ribblesdale League. Chris Bleazard, Jonny Russell and Chris Benbow return after missing much of last season through injury.

Competition for places has been as strong as ever and Stuart Grant get’s the nod for the final batting place ahead of former skipper Joe Beneduce and youngsters Scott Hope and Ben Heap.  Other recent signing Matt Doughty will start in the seconds.

Turning to Accrington, they have engaged Sri Lankan all-rounder Roy Silva as their professional for the 2008 season. The 27 year-old plays for Moors Sports Club back home.

In first class cricket Kumbo Roy Prasanga Silva has scored 2063 runs at 24.8 since making his debut for Sri Lanka Air Force Sports Club in 2001 with a top score of 171. In his last domestic season he opened the batting for his club but the opportunities to bowl his right arm medium pace were more limited, yielding just 2 of his 72 First-class wickets. Silva’s best bowling performance in first class cricket is 7-41 and he has scored three First-class hundreds and eight half centuries in 56 matches.

In the amateur ranks Accrington are boosted by a return to his roots for former Lancashire and England one day star, Graham Lloyd. Lloyd returns to Accrington having played most recently for Firwood Bootle who were Champions in the 2007 Liverpool Competition. In the Championship winning season Lloyd amassed 643 runs at 43 with an high score of 100 not out. 

Also returning to Accrington is Jimmy Hayhurst who has most recently played at Haslingden.  Accrington will no doubt be hoping to improve upon their recent league form and push themselves into contention at the top of the table.

1st XI  – Farnworth SC  – Friendly (Home)  Meet @ Noon 

  1. Jon Finch (Capt)
  2. Chris Benbow
  3. Joe Beneduce
  4. Chris Bleazard
  5. Charlie Cottam
  6. Will Driver
  7. Stuart Grant
  8. Scott Hope
  9. Jack McGregor (Wkt)
  10. Jonny Russell
  11. Drew (Pro)

Same team Sunday versus Accrington @ Home except Matt Hope and Hasan Khan for Joe Beneduce and Scott Hope.

2nd XI – Accrington (Away) Meet @ 11:45

  1. Paul Stansfield (Capt)
  2. Phil Haggerty
  3. Joe Beneduce
  4. Matt Doughty
  5. Joe Hawke
  6. Ben Heap
  7. Scott Hope
  8. Max Howells
  9. Paddy Howley (Wkt)
  10. Paddy Martin
  11. Matt Marquis

3rd XI – Earby – Friendly (BGSOB) Meet @ Noon


  1. Jon Waite (Capt)
  2. Michael Lee
  3. Fergus Bailey
  4. Ayyaz Darr
  5. Michael Donovan (Wkt)
  6. Phil Edmondson
  7. Shaun Heaton
  8. Adam Hope
  9. Chris Swift
  10. Joe Martin
  11. Matthew Stansfield
  12. Kieron Tighe
  13. Jonny Whitehead