Weekend Preview and Teams 10th and 11th May

Lowerhouse will be looking to finally get their season under way this
weekend after an unexpected poor start to the season. House currently sit
bottom of the league after defeats in each of their opening 3 games.

On Saturday we travel to Ramsbottom in the first re-arranged game of the
season. Chris Benbow is unavailable and so Hasan Khan returns in his place
having been unavailable the previous weekend. Stuart Grant steps back into
the first team and young Joe Hawke retains his place after some late order
resistance in the defeat at Rawtenstall. Ben Heap remains in the seconds
despite his knock of 99* in the second XI game against Rawtenstall.

Ramsbottom have themselves had a mixed start to the season with one no
result, a win against Colne and defeat to Nelson to show from their 3
completed fixtures.

In the first fixture Ramsbottom were 18-3 before the rain intervened so
House will be hoping for similar fortune this time out.

Star performer to date for Ramsbottom is batsemn Phil Hayes who has started
the season where he left off last season top scoring in both of his
completed innings to date.

On Sunday we travel down the M65 to Nelson to face New Zealand World Cup
star Craig McMillan. Chris Benbow returns to the squad.

Nelson are undefeated 3 games in to the season having won two and
registering a tie against reigning champions, Rishton. They are a much
different side to last season with Sean Lemon having returned from Colne.
Martin Heap has retired with Billy Jamil, Richard Meade and Russell Bradley
have all left for pastures new.

McMillan is in his third spell at Nelson although the previous two spells
have involved just 15 appearances due to poor weather and prior commitments.
McMillan who is regarded as a one day specialist has played in 55 Tests for
his country, hitting 3116 runs at 38.5 also taking 28 wickets at 44.89. In
One Day International cricket McMillan has 4717 runs at 28.18 and 49 wickets
at 35.04.

On the amateur front Nelson’s leading batsman last season was David Crottty
with 298 runs at 19.86. Leading bowler was Khurrum Nazir who captured 27
wickets at 14.25 with a seasons best of 6-33.

1st XI – Ramsbottom- (Away) 10th May 08 – Meet @ 11:45

1. Jon Finch (Capt)
2. Hassan Khan
3. Chris Bleazard
4. Charlie Cottam
5. Will Driver
6. Stuart Grant
7. Joe Hawke
8. Matt Hope
9. Jack McGregor (Wkt)
10. Jonny Russell
11. Drew (Pro)

Same team Sunday versus Nelson Away except Chris Benbow is added to squad.
Meet Noon.

2nd XI – Neslon – (Home) 11th May 08 – Meet – Noon


1. Paul Stansfield (Capt)
2. Phil Haggerty
3. Joe Beneduce
4. Matt Doughty
5. Phil Edmondson
6. Ben Heap
7. Max Howells
8. Paddy Howley (Wkt)
9. Paddy Martin
10. Matt Stansfield
11. Kireon Tighe
12. First Teamer

3rd XI – Ramsbottom – (Home) 10th May 08 – Meet – Noon


1. Michael Lee (Capt)
2. Paddy Howley (Wkt)
3. Shaun Heaton
4. Adam Hope
5. Dean Mottram
6. Lewis Marsden
7. Colin Quinn
8. Gavin Shields
9. Matt Stansfield
10. Chris Swift
11. Tauqeer Razzaq
12. Ben Webster
13. Matt Walker